XML.com XML.com features a rich mix of information and services for the XML community. en-us http://www.xml.com/ Copyright 2004, O'Reilly Media, Inc. edd@xml.com (Edd Dumbill) peter@xml.com (Peter Wiggin) http://www.xml.com/ http://www.xml.com/universal/images/xml_tiny.gif XML.com Under the Hood: Oracle Berkeley DB XML http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2008/05/07/under-the-hood-oracle-berkeley-db-xml.html XML Databases, coupled with the power of XQuery, offer a potentially paradigm-changing way of dealing with data. The Oracle Berkeley DB XML database provides a rich XQuery-based engine that can be manipulated via XQuery, opening up possibilities for any web developer. Introducing E4X http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/11/28/introducing-e4x.html Kurt Cagle introduces us to E4X, an XML library for JavaScript, and argues that XML and JSON are both indispensable parts of the web app developer's toolkit. Data Sources as Web Services http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/10/25/data-sources-as-web-services.html Kyle Gabhart describes WS02's Data Services, a new feature in WS02 that allows for rapid creation of web services wrapping relational, Excel, CSV, and JNDI data sources quickly and easily. XForms Thick Clients http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/10/17/xforms-thick-clients.html Jack Cox explains an approach to building XForms client applications that work in a disconnected environment. jQuery and XML http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/10/10/jquery-and-xml.html Uche Ogbuji returns with a new Agile Web column to explain how to use jQuery to process XML in JavaScript web applications. Extended XQuery for SOA http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/09/12/extended-xquery-for-soa.html Web service orchestration is an important part of web services and service oriented architecture. Gimzewski and Fancellu argue that XQuery is especially well-suited as an implementation language for service orchestrator components. Parsing Microformats http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/09/04/parsing-microformats.html Brian Suda explains how to handle hCard, the vCard microformat embedded in HTML. XForms, XML Schema, and ROX http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/08/16/xforms-xml-schema-and-rox.html Kurt Cagle describes ROX Server, a RESTful system for building XForms from an XML Schema and some other bits. XQuery, libferris, and Virtual Filesystems http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/07/26/xquery-libferris-and-virtual-filesystems.html Ben Martin returns with another look at his fascinating system, libferris, which turns everything into a filesystem, that is, a hierarchical data store. This time Ben shows us how to use XQuery with libferris as a kind of universal data access language. Good stuff! Introducing OpenSearch http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/07/20/introducing-opensearch.html Uche Ogbuji's Agile Web column returns with an introduction to OpenSearch, an Atom-friendly format for describing and discovering search engines and query endpoints on the Web in a RESTful way. XQuery and Data Abstraction http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/07/12/xquery-and-data-abstraction.html In his most recent column Kurt Cagle explains the utility of XQuery for increased data abstraction and why XQuery is XPath plus some useful missing bits. XQuery and Data TEST http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/07/12/xquery-and-data-test.html In his most recent column Kurt Cagle explains the utility of XQuery for increased data abstraction and why XQuery is XPath plus some useful missing bits. Getting Productive with XMLMind http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/06/20/getting-productive-with-xmlmind.html In the area of technical publishing, there are still challenges to be faced when creating large, complex documents using XML. This week Jim Elliott and Marc Loy provide an excellent introduction to XMLMind, an XML editing environment optimized for complex technical documents. A New Identity for Web Services http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/06/13/a-new-identity-for-web-servies-yahoo-bbauth-google-authsub.html Jason Levitt describes the newly burgeoning field of web authentication APIs, including Yahoo's BBAuth and Google's AuthSub. XQuery, the Server Language http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2007/06/01/xquery-the-server-language.html Kurt Cagle offers an interesting perspective on the future utility of XQuery as a server-side development language.